

### SERVICE POLICY

Address: 1650 E. Stagecoach Run, Eagle Mountain, UT 84005

Phone: (801) 789-6623

Web page: http://eaglemountain.gov/libraru

#### I. Purpose Statement

The purpose of the Service Policy is to clarify library card registration and outline use of the library, including access to materials and technology and the processes for overdue fines and account reconciliation.

# 11. <u>Library Hours</u>

A. The Library will have regular business hours posted.

B. The Library will close for legal, city holidays; occasional library staff training or city events; and inclement weather in compliance with City policy.

### 111. <u>Confidentiality</u> of Patrons

A. The Library Board of Trustees and library staff upholds the confidentiality of patron records, including but not limited to card application information, circulation and Internet records.

B. The State of Utah has deemed patron records to be confidential as sited in Section 63-2-302 (1), Utah code Annotated.

### IV. Registration

- A. Citizens of Eagle Mountain City, and the surrounding Cedar Valley area (includes Fairfield, Cedar Fort) may obtain a library card.
- B. Library cards are valid for 2 years and are updated at expiration with proof of address and/or photo ID.
- C. Library cards are issued to individuals. Family cards are not available.
- D. Adult patrons are asked to provide a current, government issued photo ID and proof of residence at the time of registration. If proof of residence is not available, proof may be provided on the next visit.
- E. Parent or guardian permission must be provided for children under 13 years old.
- F. The staff will collect contact information for library use only and patrons will be contacted by their preferred means (telephone or email).
- G. A patron may be limited in the number of items they check out at a time at the discretion of library administration if they consistently have overdue materials or large fees on the card-holder account.

# V. <u>Use of Libraru Materials</u>

A. Material check out limits:

- 1. Adult cardholders may borrow up to five (5) DVD's at one time.
- 2. Adults (18 & older) may borrow up to 50 items.
- 3. Teens (13-17) may borrow up to 15 items.
- 4. Children (5-12) may borrow up to 10 items.

- B. Checkout loan periods:
  - 1. DVD's/Bluray discs have a one (1) week checkout period.
  - 2. Books, audiobooks have a three (3) week checkout period.
- C. Loan periods are based on open business days and exclude holidays.
- D. All material types may be renewed if the titles(s) are not on hold for another patron.
- E. Items on the hold list may not be renewed.
- F. Patrons may request materials through Interlibrary Loan that are not owned by Eagle Mountain Library. There is a minimum \$3.00 charge per item to be paid at pick up. Patrons are responsible for replacement cost for lost or damaged materials and any additional fees charged by the lending library.
- G. Eagle Mountain Library patrons have access to a variety of free electronic resource including subscription databases, ebooks, e-audiobooks, and online magazines with a current library card.

# VI. Holds

- A. Library materials may be placed on hold in person, by phone, or on the library's website.
- B. Patrons will be notified by preferred contact method when an item is available.
- C. Items are held for seven (7) days for pick up unless other arrangements are made. After seven days, items are passed on to the next patron with a hold or re-shelved.

### VII. <u>Equipment Use</u>

- A. Copying and printing charges are \$.10 per page for single or double-sided black & white copies; color copies are \$.25 per page.
- B. Faxing and Scanning/emailing charges: \$1.00 in increments of 10 pages (i.e. 10 pages = \$1.00, 20 pages = \$2.00)
- C. Patrons have access to desktop computers in the library at no cost on a first-come, first-served basis.
- D. Cardholders are responsible for repair or replacement costs due to negligent damage to library equipment.

# VIII. Notices and Displaus

- A. All notices and posters in designated public display areas will be reviewed and posted by staff. Display space and notice posting is available to educational, cultural and nonprofit groups
- B. Political campaign literature, religious proselytizing, commercial advertisements, lost/found or for sale ads are not permitted.
- C. Materials must be appropriate for viewing by all ages.
- D. The Library does not endorse any organization or any individual displaying materials, nor its beliefs or policies.
- E. Objections to notices or displays may be brought before the Eagle Mountain Library Board of Trustees through a written explanation of the objection and/or written request to discuss the objection with the Library Board at their regularly scheduled meeting.
- F. All notices posted in the library become property of the library and may be removed or discarded at any time.

# IX. Overdue Materials and Fee Structure

- A. Patrons will be notified by email when overdue material(s) are past the due date.
- B. Return or renewal of library materials on or before the established due date is required to maintain borrower privileges.
- C. Patrons will be assessed a replacement fee for individual items lost or damaged based on the current retail price of the material
- D. A minimum fee of \$25.00 will be assessed on all returned checks; a minimum fee of \$20.00 per account shall be assessed on all accounts turned over to a collection agency.

Reviewed and adopted: 9/20/18

Updated: 10/1/19 Updated: 12/1/2022

Reviewed and readopted: 5/18/2023